The unit > Our teams > Team COMETE – Design, modelling and evaluation of livestock farming systems

Team COMETE – Design, modelling and evaluation of livestock farming systems

COMETE objectives are:

  • To assess the technical, economic, and environmental performances, the ecosystem services, and the efficiency of herbivore farms over time, including a territorial dimension;
  • To understand the links between farm practices, biological functions, and ecosystemic services (production and regulation services such as biodiversity preservation);
  • To design, test and evaluate innovative herbivore farming systems within the framework of agroecology (e.g. minimising inputs, using diversity and complementarity between local resources, promoting ecosystem services);
  • To identify locks and levers enabling to improve the efficiency and the resilience of herbivore farming systems.

 

COMETE studies farming systems and their components (herd and batches of animals, forages and the crop system, means of production, production practices), with a focus on systems based mainly on grazing livestock in less-favoured and mountain areas, including mixed systems combining several species or productions (animals, plants).

COMETE research combines observations on commercial farms and experiments at the system level on long-term, as well as systems modelling, in an iterative approach. Through the monitoring over years of the multi-performances, in farms network and in experimental units, COMETE assesses performances dynamics (stability, resilience...) in response to economic, climatic and biological changes and/or hazards, and analyses the synergies or antagonisms (trade-offs) between ecosystem services. Modelling is used to design and assess farming systems ex ante, to understand and test trade-offs. Models are regularly enriched with the data collected in commercial and experimental farms. The assessment of the sustainability of farming systems relies on indicators of practices or performances (observed and/or modelled) which are integrated in multicriterion evaluations.The design of sustainable systems considers, as far as possible, the point of view of farmers and the specific needs of the sectors (types/quality of products and their marketing), in a participative approach at the territorial and/or sector scale. 

 

Contact: Patrick Veysset


Direction ] | [ Biomarqueurs ] | [ Caraibe ] | [ Comete ] | [ Dinamic ] | [ Peraq ] | [ Pigale ]

L'unité > Nos équipes > Equipe COMETE – Conception, modélisation et évaluation des systèmes d’élevage d’herbivores

Equipe COMETE – Conception, modélisation et évaluation des systèmes d’élevage d’herbivores

Les objectifs de l’équipe COMETE sont :

  • D’évaluer les performances techniques, économiques et environnementales, les services écosystémiques et l’efficience des exploitations d'herbivores,avec une dimension territoriale;
  • De comprendre les liens entre les pratiques d’élevage, les fonctions biologiques et les services écosystémiques (de production,de régulation comme par exemple la préservation de la biodiversité, etc.);
  • De concevoir, tester et évaluer des systèmes d'élevage d'herbivores novateurs dans le contexte de l'agroécologie (en réduisant au minimum les intrants, en utilisant la diversité et la complémentarité entre des ressources locales, en promouvant des services écosystémiques…);
  • D’identifier les verrous et les leviers pour améliorer l'efficacité et la résilience des systèmes d’élevage d'herbivores.

L’équipe COMETE étudie les systèmes d’élevage et leurs composantes (troupeau et lots d'animaux, productions de fourrages et de céréales, moyens de production, pratiques de production), avec un accent sur les systèmes herbagers en zones défavorisées ou de montagne, dont les systèmes mixtes combinant plusieurs espèces ou productions (animaux, végétaux).

L’équipe conduit des recherches alliant des observations en fermes commerciales à des expérimentations système à long terme, ainsi que de la modélisation de systèmes, avec une approche itérative. Par le biais de suivi au cours des années des multi-performances en réseaux de fermes et en unités expérimentales, l’équipe COMETE évalue la dynamique des performances (stabilité, résilience...) en réponse aux changements et/ou aléas économiques, climatiques et biologiques,et analyse les synergies ou les antagonismes (compromis) entre les services écosystémiques. La modélisation est utilisée pour concevoir et évaluer des systèmes ex-ante, et comprendre et tester les compromis. Les modèles sont régulièrement enrichis avec les données collectées dans des fermes commerciales et expérimentales. L'évaluation de la durabilité de systèmes d’élevage repose sur les indicateurs de pratiques ou des performances (observés et/ou modélisés) qui sont intégrés dans les évaluations multicritères. La conception de systèmes durables prend en compte, autant que possible, le point de vue des éleveurs et les besoins spécifiques des secteurs (types/qualité des produits et leur marketing), dans une approche participative à l’échelle du territoire ou du secteur.

 

Contact: Patrick Veysset


Direction ] | [ Biomarqueurs ] | [ Caraibe ] | [ Comete ] | [ Dinamic ] | [ Peraq ] | [ Pigale ]

Actualités